RSS

Doctor Who, the 11th Doctor.

10 Jan

Image courtesy of BBC

So, I loved David Tennants contribution to the series. I also thought Christopher Eccleston was an excellent choice to re introduce the famed BBC series.

Matthew Robert Smith As The Eleventh Doctor

My question to you now is this: What are YOUR thoughts on Matt Smith and his donation to the lofty & record-breaking series spanning nearly 5 decades?



Karen Gillan as Amelia Jessica (Amy) Pond

With the introduction of Karen Gillan’s companion character, “Amy Pond”, how do they stack up against the former cast?

I welcome your opinions, comments, & rants! Have fun, but do please be respectful, you can have an opinion without giving someone a complex from spiteful verbal attacks! 😉

            Cheers! Nyrhalahotep

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2011 in BBC, Doctor Who, Polls, Sci Fi

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Doctor Who, the 11th Doctor.

  1. Bex

    January 10, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    I’m going to go on record saying Matt Smith is my favorite Doctor. Don’t take this to mean that I didn’t like Tennant or Eccleston by any means! You’re asking me to choose between three different delicious flavors of pie. Each actor brought exactly who the Doctor needed to be at that time. Eccleston was angry and brooding, Tennant was funny and the most human. Smith, on the other hand, is the most alien of them all. He’s weird and awkward and brilliant and I love watching him perform. As I’ve said before, he’s the Doctory-est of the three.

     
  2. Awix

    January 10, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I’ve nothing but respect for David Tennant’s skill as an actor and his commitment to the part – and he was almost invariably brilliant.

    Having said that, it took about thirty seconds of Matt Smith – or however long he had on screen at the conclusion of End of Time – for me to realise I actually preferred his characterisation. I prefer a bonkers and vague and unreliable Doctor like Smith’s to someone a bit more conventionally heroic like Tennant’s. (Most of the women I’ve spoken to have the opposite opinion though this may not be entirely a characterisation-related issue…)

     
  3. Redhead

    January 10, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Amy Pond is adorable and obnoxious and I love her to pieces.

    but David Tennant is MY doctor.

     
  4. whoisthemancast

    January 10, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Matt Smith is ‘Fantastic’ as The Doctor, and he just gets better and better every time I see him, in a new episode, or in re-watching one. I’m personally terrible at making a favourite lists but for what doctor is my favourite it’s a three way tie between David Tennant, Matt Smith, and Tom Baker.

     
  5. Nyrhalahotep

    January 10, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Thanks for all the great comments thus far, they are a joy to read!
    You might also be interested in my current poll, Poll: Since 1963, who was your all time favorite #DoctorWho? http://poll.fm/2llms
    Thanks again, and enjoy!

    Cheers, Nyrhalahotep

     
  6. Saintash

    January 20, 2011 at 12:12 am

    i was on fence,i liked both 9 and 10 about the same, maybe ten more since i saw more of him. i like all the doctors for different reasons, Christopher Eccleston played a a sad broken warrior trying to find his place again. i have to say David Tennant smile was made me like him as a the doctor when he smiled at something that anyone did in the show i felt he was truly and genuinely happy.

    But Matt smith has my heart since Vincent and the doctor, he came off as a brilliant and kind old man with what he said to Amy about good things days and bad things in life. his age came across so well along with his wisdom, while still being able to make me forget he is a 900+ year old man in-between moments of trying to cheer a broken hearted girl up

     

Leave a Reply

 
