RSS

Where or when is The Master? Will he return?

30 Apr

The Master, John Simm‘s enigmatic portrayal of the mad, bad, and dangerous to know Time Lord from Doctor Who was a fan favorite. And with good reason, John’s acting skills we’re phenomenal in The End of Time, a two-part special on 25 December 2009 and 1 January 2010.

John’s ability to simulate a voraciously starving entity was so well accomplished you actually believed him. In fact, I think I even paused the DVR at that point to raid my kitchen.

Will we see a return of The Master in future episodes? According
to an article by TV Overmind John is quoted:

“I’d certainly
consider it,” he said regarding returning to the role he took over

in 2006. “There seems to be a lot of talk about it recently.”
“I haven’t spoke to anyone about it, but I would definitely
consider it [if asked],” he remarked. “It was such fun to do.”

I certainly feel that The Master is one of Doctor Who’s most perplexing and charismatic antagonists. Especially when rendered
so profoundly by the compelling John Simm. Should he return? Do the fans love him enough to welcome him back to fold? And if so, in what capacity?

What was the relationship between The Doctor and The Master at the end, there is some speculation as to whether they parted on good terms, or not.

This particular episode was the last time The Master was seen on Doctor Who, it is also the last Doctor Who story written and produced by Russell T Davies.

Not only that, it is also the final episode for David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor & sees the regeneration into his eleventh incarnation, played by Matt Smith.

So I pose this question to my readers; should John return to Doctor Who as The Master? Are they going to have a tearful hug and pat on the back like long lost college roomies?

I look forward to your thoughts!

Thanks again, Faithful Followers!

Cheers! Nyrhalahotep

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2011 in BBC, Doctor Who, Sci Fi

 

4 responses to “Where or when is The Master? Will he return?

  1. Awix

    April 30, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Right now I’m more concerned about seeing the return of coherent and involving storytelling to the series than any old characters, to be perfectly honest…

     
  2. Nyrhalahotep

    April 30, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I must admit, my Wife and I feel the same way. “The Impossible Astronaut” was… well, “meh”. But I personally have faith that we shall see the Doctor Who we have grown to love come back in full force.
    I’m a “glass half full” kind of bloke. haha

    Time will tell, My friend Awix! Let’s keep the faith until then, yes?

    Cheers, Nyrhalahotep

     
  3. James Birdsong

    April 30, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    If Master returns it’ll be sans beating drums. Maybe he shall be sane (and dare I hope nonevil)

     
  4. Erica Freeman

    May 3, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    You know, it would be interesting if he and the Doctor do team up but not like how we expect?

    Is the Doctor the real villain this season?

     

Leave a Reply

 
